IMG_0438 Today we had our 7th annual Our Lady of Guadalupe fiesta with a few friends and our dear priest. (Here is a post I wrote from our party in 2006.) We started the day with Mass and then we all came over for lunch after wards. We had lots of Mexican food, but since it's Friday everything was meatless. I planned on making pina coladas and Mexican hot cocoa, but we are all so busy talking and eating that I forgot to make the drinks. I made rice and cheese and bean enchiladas, soft tacos, and we had lots chips and salsa. Adrianna made miniature strawberry cupcakes and put powdered sugar on them to make them look like roses. I also planned on making some Flan for dessert before Mass this morning, but the day got away from me. Here are a few pictures from today's beautiful celebration.

These are the enchiladas I made last night. They were so good! I made up my own recipe since the recipe I had called for meat. Here is the recipe:

1 can enchilada sauce
20 flour tortillas
2 cans of red kidney beans
2 cups cooked rice
2 cups shredded Mexican cheese
lots of garlic
1 cup heavy cream
4 tablespoons butter
2 tablespoons flour

Make a white cheese sauce with the butter, flour, cream and cheese. Coat the bottom of a baking dish with some Enchilada sauce. Spoon rice, beand and cheese sauce on the tortillas. Roll them up and place seam side down. Pour the rest of the enchilada sauce and cheese sauce over the tortillas and bake at 350 for 30 minutes.

IMG_0422

The cupcakes didn't last very long.

IMG_0440

The kids played The Scrambled States of America game.

IMG_0441

Our Lady of Guadalupe, Patroness of the America's, pray for us!

