Jajo_readingI’ve added all the books we are reading this year on the sidebars. We are having so much learning about many topics, especially the weather. The boys are fascinated with tornadoes and clouds. I have learned so much from them this year. I see clouds in a whole new way now. They are also enjoying all the books on germs. The kids thought You Wouldn’t Want to Be Sick in the 16th Century! was hysterical. A little gross, but very funny and they enjoyed it a lot! Adrianna, Marygrace and Cecilia are reading about the Holocaust. Those books are on the left sidebar, right under the 4th of July books. I had some of those books from our Revolutionary War unit study last fall.

I find that I’m constantly putting more and more books on hold from the library. This past Spring we read all the gardening books and two of my favorite books were Katie and the Sunflowers by James Mayhew and Camille and the Sunflowers by Laurence Anholt. Camille and the Sunflowers is about a boy meeting Vincent Van Gogh, so now we are going to do an Art appreciation study this summer as well. The art books are listed on the sidebar right under the Thunderstorms and Tornadoes. It’s amazing how you can learn about one subject and that leads to something else. I am looking forward to learning about so many incredible artists. After reading Katie Meets The Impressionists to Angela yesterday, she asked me if we could go to the Art museum sometime. I’m hoping to take the kids to the National Gallery of Art this summer.

