Ever since I’ve been using these adorable cloth diapers, which you can see the baby wearing here, I have been wanting to make my own baby wipes, but I wanted to become comfortable with cloth diapers before using homemade baby wipes. I am making the baby wipes by cutting up some extra pink flannel baby blankets into small wipe-sized squares. If I had a surger I would surge the edges to prevent fraying.

To prepare, use a glass jar with a tight fitting lid. Pour all the ingredients in, cover the jar and shake to blend the ingredients. Place your homemade wipes in a container, preferably this one, which I received as a baby gift, add the solution, and invert a few times to make sure the wipes all get sufficiently moistened. Store any extra solution in the refrigerator. It should stay fresh for a long time, especially if you use distilled water.

  • 1 cup distilled water
  • 1/2 cup Aloe Vera gel– The gel from the Aloe Vera leaf is great for healing and relieving burns and rashes.
  • 2 tbsp. calendulated oil– This herb is commonly used to soothe the skin and reduce inflamation. 
  • 2 drops tea tree essential oil– This oil penetrates the skin and is useful for treating burns, scrapes, bites, and various skin irritations. It may also help to prevent and treat yeast infections. Very effective antibacterial and antiseptic.
  • 2 drops lavender essential oil– Lavender may promote healing and as an aroma eases tension.
  • 2 tbsp. vinegar–  It may be used to prevent mold.
