Seeds_2Yesterday I took the kids to the garden center to buy seeds for the garden. Angela has always been interested in seeds. She is always collecting seeds from the various foods we eat and takes them outside to plant. This year we’re starting most of our vegetable garden from seeds. We use the Burpee brand seeds, which I found at the garden center. I was hoping to get miniature vegetable seeds for the kids garden, but I was only able to get miniature carrots. Maybe I’ll order some anyway.

Planting_3I bought a peat pellet greenhouse and the kids planted sunflowers, carrots, cucumbers, jalapeƱos, watermelon, cantaluope, green beans, corn and one of my favorite flowers, Lupines. Afterwards we read Miss Rumphius. I put some gardening picture books on hold at the library, and I hope to start a rabbit trail with the kids. Elizabeth has an amazing post on a gardening rabbit trail here.

   

