Vestments- Clothes that the priest wears at Mass.

Vestment colors. The color of the Chalice, Maniple, Stole and Chasuble are changed according to the feast or Mass.

White (Purity): On the feasts of Our Lord, Our Lady, and saints who were not martyrs.

Red (Love): On the feasts of The Holy Spirit, The Precious Blood, and martyrs.

Violet (Penance): During penitential times; Advent and Lent.

Black (Sorrow): For Good Friday, and Masses for the dead.

Green (Hope): For days when none of the other colors are prescribed.

Amice- White linen cloth worn around the neck and shoulders. It was originally used to cover the head. The priest places it for a moment on his head, and then allows it to rest upon his shoulders. As he does so he prays: "Place, O Lord, on my head the helmet of salvation, that so I may resist the assaults of the devil."

Amice_2 

Alb- A white linen vestment with close fitting sleeves, reaching nearly to the ground. The vesting prayer is: "Make me white, O Lord, and cleanse my heart; that being made white in the Blood of the Lamb I may deserve an eternal reward."

Alb

Cinture- A cord to be tied around the waist. It holds the Alb in place. The vesting prayer is: "Gird me, O Lord, with the cincture of purity, and quench in my heart the fire of concupiscence, that the virtue of continence and chastity may abide in me."

Girdle

Maniple- It used to be a small towel or handkerchief. It is carried over the left arm. In the prayer offered by the priest when putting on the maniple are symbolized the cares and sorrows of this earthly life. The vesting prayer is: "May I deserve, O Lord, to bear the maniple of weeping and sorrow in order that I may joyfully reap the reward of my labors."

Maniple

Stole- It is worn whenever the priest administers the Sacraments, or performs special blessings. The vesting prayer is: "Restore to me, O Lord, the state of immortality which I lost through the sin of my first parents and, although unworthy to approach Thy Sacred Mysteries, may I deserve nevertheless eternal joy."

Stole

Chasuble- It is called "Little House" in Latin, because it covers everything else. The vesting prayer is: "O Lord, who has said, ‘My yoke is sweet and My burden light,’ grant that I may so carry it as to merit Thy grace."

Chasuble

Biretta- A square cap with three ridges or peaks on its upper surface.

Biretta

