Mt_carmel

Yesterday, our children were enrolled in the Scapular of Our Lady of Mount Carmel. It was such a beautiful ceremony. I was able to get a few pictures to remember this beautiful gift from Our Blessed Mother. Later on this morning I will be making brown Scapulars with our adult Legion of Mary, while the little kiddies go to vacation bible school. Our Lady of Mount Carmel, pray for us!

Scapular_kids

Scapular

Novena Prayer to Our Lady of Mount Carmel

O most beautiful flower of Mount Carmel, fruitful vine, splendor of Heaven, blessed Mother of the Son of God, Immaculate Virgin, assist me in this my necessity. Oh, Star of the Sea, help me and show me herein that you are my Mother.

O Holy Mary, Mother of God, Queen of Heaven and Earth, I humbly beseech you from the bottom of my heart to succor me in this necessity; there are none that can withstand your power. O show me herein that you are my Mother.

Our Lady, queen and beauty of Carmel, pray for me and obtain my requests.

Sweet Mother, I place this cause into your hands.

You have got to see this!!! Anne, you are amazing! Here is our version.

Dcp_2965

Sister Mary Martha’s post about the Brown Scapular. A must read!!!

Here are some facts about the Brown Scapular:

Saints devoted to the Brown Scapular

St. Alphonsus Liguori
St. Peter Claver
St. Robert Bellarmine, SJ
St. Claude de la Colombiere, SJ
St. Vincent Pallotti
St. John Vianney, Cure of Ars
St. Bernadette Soubirous, visionary of Lourdes
St. John Bosco
St. Maximilian Kolbe
St. Francis Xavier Cabrini
Pope St. Pius X
St. Conrad

Miracles associated with the Brown Scapular

Throughout the centuries since the scapular promise was made to St. Simon Stock, countless miracles and conversions have been credited to the scapular.  The following are just a few examples.

In May 1957, in Westenboden, Germany, an entire row of houses had caught fire.  The inhabitants of one of the houses fixed a scapular to the front door of their home.  Five hours later, 22 homes on the block had burnt to the ground.  Yet amidst the destruction, the home with the scapular attached to it stood unharmed. This miracle was witnessed by hundreds of people.

Three holy men devoted to the scapular, Pope Bl. Gregory X, St. Alphonsus Liguori, and St. John Bosco, all died wearing the scapular.  When their graves were opened years later, the bodies and vestments had decayed but their scapulars remained perfectly intact.

In November of 1955, a plane carrying 27 passengers crashed in Guatemala.  All the passengers died except for one young girl.  She related that when the plane was going down, she clutched her scapular and cried out to Our Lady for help.  She was burnt and her clothes were tattered and burnt as well, but the girl was overall unharmed and her scapular free from any burns.

(the miracles above were taken from Garment of Grace, published by the Slaves of the Immaculate Heart of Mary.)

