Here is an idea I came up with, to help our family perform small penances and acts of love for Jesus. I compiled a list of small sacrifices and acts of love and wrote them on small pieces of purple foam. I then attached them with velcro to the large felt cross. We’ve already added some for you to see. This is what it looks like.

Lent_cross

Some of these aren’t suitable for younger children. There are supposed to be 40 squares on the cross, but I made the cross too small. I’ll have to make it bigger next year.I couldn’t think of 40 penances/acts of love, so I made two of each. Here is a list of the things we will be working on during Lent:

  • Be extra patient today
  • Be helpful throughout the day
  • Don’t watch TV today
  • Praise someone who makes you angry
  • Do an extra chore without bieng asked
  • Don’t listen to the radio today
  • Say little prayers throughout the day
  • Don’t tattle all day today
  • Say an extra Rosary
  • Don’t have any sweets
  • Drink only water today
  • Don’t complain today
  • Do your chores joyfully
  • Pray for those who have injured you
  • Speak in a soft voice
  • Control your temper
  • Be kind to those who anger you
  • Get up earlier today and read the Bible
  • Help a younger sibbling with their chores
  • Read about your patron saint
