I have never made a New Year’s Resolution, but this year I thought I would try it out. The Loveliness Fair going on this week has inspired me. Here is what I have so far:

  1. Continue to attend 7:00 a.m. Mass on Monday mornings. It’s early enough that the little ones are still asleep and I can go alone. I come home so refreshed and ready to face the day. I actually made this resolution at the beginning of Advent.
  2. Start praying a decade of the Rosary with my husband at night. The kids and I pray the Rosary in the mornings before we begin school.
  3. Slowly change over from Seton to Charlotte Mason with the youngest 4 kids. I am going to need lots of help!
  4. Read aloud to the middle children everyday, and have them narrate back to me. I’ve always done this with the little ones, but I haven’t continued with the older ones..
  5. Write a daily schedule of the kids’ lessons, and follow it.
  6. Go for a walk with the kids around the neighborhood, at least 15 minutes everyday. This will be tough for me, because I have a hard time with the cold weather.
  7. Take the kids on a nature hike at the State Park. We have a great book called, “Look What I Did With a Leaf.” I intend to have the kids make some of these projects.
  8. Have teatime with the kids every day.
  9. Bake fresh bread at least once a week.
  10. Pay off 15% of our credit card debt.
  11. Continue tithing. We’ve seen so many miracles.
  12. Go on a monthly date with my husband. We’ve been doing this for years. We go to Mass on Saturday mornings, and then out to breakfast.
  13. Tuck in our teenagers at night.
